Apply Online
Learning Analytics Parent Lounge
Secondary debating success

Secondary debating success

Author: Lauren Leslie
Author Role: Debating Coordinator

The Queensland Debating Union Secondary Competition has now entered the knockout finals rounds. Teams will battle it out each week in a fierce attempt to be the last team standing victorious in their year level at the Grand Final evening of Wednesday 28 August at Somerville House.

This year, Ms Katherine Hart’s team 8.1 (Charlotte Theil, Luke Sivyer, Audrey Davidson, Lucy Farrell), Mrs Eve Hassall’s team 11.1 (Rebecca Donnan, Emma Cooney, Anna Coldham-Fussell, Chrisel Myburgh), and Mrs Lauren Leslie’s team 12.1 (Jacques Dennison, Sierra Mossman, Chris O’Brien, Will Ewart) have successfully advanced to the knockout round of the competition.

After an impressive win against Iona College in Round 4 of the preliminary rounds, Ms Hart’s team 8.1 will take on St Joseph’s Gregory Terrace 8.3 on Wednesday 24 July 7pm at Brisbane Girls Grammar School for Round 1 of the finals knockout. Spectators are always welcome, and if you’re curious about debating, why not come along to support the team as they fight to keep their dreams of Grand Final glory alive?

I offer my congratulations to Ms Hart, Mrs Hassall and teams 8.1, 11.1 and 12.1 for progressing to this phase of the competition. I would also like to sincerely thank Mr John Featherstone, Ms Vicky Barnett, Ms Georgina Baker and Ms Gabrielle Venables for their coaching efforts this season. Well done to all students who participated in the preliminary rounds–I hope you found your debating experience to be educational and challenging.

Mrs Lauren Leslie

Secondary Debating Coordinator