Apply Online
Parent Handbook Community Login


Staff new to the College often refer to the friendly nature and cohesive spirit of the team at CHAC. This doesn't happen by accident and is the result of inspired management, passionate and committed leadership, and shared vision and values.

College Council

The College is a separately incorporated company whose shares are owned by the Corporation of the Synod of the Diocese of Brisbane. The College Council is the Board of Directors of Cannon Hill Anglican College Pty Ltd (a Company Limited by Shares) and is responsible for the governance of the College. Council is concerned with overall direction and policy and does not direct the day-to-day operations or management of the College. Council delegates the leadership and management of the College to the Principal, who performs the role of CEO as well as educational leader.

The role of the College Council is to:

  • set strategic directions and formulate policies that directly impact on the College and systematically monitoring the implementation of those policies
  • protect and enhance the educational benefit for students
  • meet the College's obligations to the College community
  • ensure that the College is appropriately resourced (both in terms of financial and human capital) to meet its objectives.
  • undertake effective oversight of the College
  • develop and guard an appropriate ethical culture within the College.

Members of the College Council

Dr Gavin Nicholson BEcon LLB MBA(Adv) PhD AFAIM FAICD

Principal (ex-officio)
Mrs Robyn Bell MEd(Lead) BA CertT CertExecCoaching GAICD FACEL FAIM MACE DSJ

Company Secretary
Mrs Kerryn Campbell BCom CA GIA(Cert) GAICD

Ms Tracy Adams
Dr Rachel Baird
Mr Andre Duvenage
Mr Peter Gardiner
Ms Dawn Lang
The Venerable Gregory March
Mr Bruce Moy
The Reverend Donna Peterson

College Leadership

College Executive

Mrs Robyn Bell

Deputy Principal
Mr Gary O’Brien

Assistant Principal
Mr David Pavish

Business Manager
Mrs Kerryn Campbell

Educational Leadership Team

Chaplain/Director of Mission
Reverend Canon Sarah Leisemann

Director of ICT
Mr Paul Bothma

Director of Curriculum & Professional Practice
Mrs Jennifer Middleton

Director of Senior Secondary
Mrs Elizabeth Pratt

Director of Junior Secondary
Mr Christopher Nastrom-Smith

Director of Primary
Mrs Elizabeth Chaplin

Deputy Director of Primary
Ms Anita Spencer

Business Services Managers

Mrs Helen Strain

Business Systems Manager
Mrs K’Lissa Reardon

Digital Communications and Events Manager
Mrs Peta Prestidge

Facilities Manager
Mr Justin Philip

Ghostgum Audio and Arts Centre Manager
Mr David Quinn

Human Resources (HR) Manager
Mr Anthony Ridge

Marketing & Development Manager
Ms Anne Andrew

Mrs Bronwyn Greenaway (Primary) and Ms Nina Johanson (Secondary)

Heads of Faculty

Heads of Faculty (HOF) are responsible for the development of high-quality, contemporary learning programs within their discipline and for the efficient and effective operation of their faculty. They are responsible for the structuring of work programs and the assessment of students.

Mrs Penny Cummins BBus BEd Cert IV Training & Assessment

Mrs Eve Hassall GCEdSt BA DipEd ATCL

Health and Physical Education
Mr Russell Greer MEdStud BHMS(Ed)

Industrial Technology and Design
Mr Brenton Schutz BEd(Tech)

Life and Faith
Ms Karen Bonini BA GradDipT GradCertRE

LSL - Mr Stephen Andrews BHMS(Ed) BSc

Ms Rowena Berlin MEd MContSci BAppSc(Hons) GradDipEd

Social Science
Mr Michael McMahon MA(ModHist) BEd(Secondary)

The Arts
Ms Carmel Mungavin BA GradDipT AssDipPArts(Theatre)

Other Key Staff

Director of Performance Music
Mr Geoff Govier BMus BEd

Director of Sport
Mr Mark Spindler BEd

Coordinator of Gifted and Talented Program
Ms Barbara Mossman BA(Comms) DipEd

Coordinator of Exceptional Scientists' Program
Ms Gay Ellyett BSc DipEd

Languages Coordinator - French
Mme Darya Gunn MEd BA GradDipEd CertInd

Languages Coordinator - Japanese
Ms Peta Nakamura BLaws(Hons) BModernAsianStudies(Japanese) GradDipEd CertIV Christian Ministry and Theology

Heads of House

Heads of House (HOH) are responsible for monitoring the academic, cultural, social, emotional and physical welfare and development of all students in their House, assisted by Homeroom Teachers and other members of House staff and also by Year 12 student leaders.

Macleay House CHAC Moreton House CHAC Peel House CHAC

Macleay (White)
HOH - Mr Les Fergus
MEd BEd(Prim)

Moreton (Gold)
HOH - Mr John Gothard
BEd DipT

Peel (Blue)
HOH - Ms Melinda Myles

Russell House CHAC

St Helena House CHAC

Stradbroke House CHAC

Russell (Orange)
HOH - Mr Kevin Hopkins
BA/BSc (Hons) Hist/PhysGeog
PGCE (Sec) Hist Phys Ed

St Helena (Green)
HOH - Ms Maria Thompson
MEd BEd DipT
Cert IV Training & Assessment

Stradbroke (Red)
HOH - Ms Shelley McMahon
MMusSt(Pedagogy) BMus BEd
PGradDipPsych AMusA

Student Leaders at CHAC

Leadership Certificate CHAC

Student Leadership

Positive student leadership opportunities and experiences at school assist young adults to transition into the community and the world of work and adult responsibility. As such, developing the skills and abilities that are central to successful leadership is an important part of the education process at Cannon Hill Anglican College. Informal leadership opportunities exist at all year levels and within all classes, and formal roles begin in Year 7.

Please visit the Student Leadership page for further information.